It’s Time for a Little American Girl Nostalgia.

Image

The other day, I got thinking about the American Girl dolls and how much I loved them growing up. I read all the books, and loved the history and the spunky, spirited girls that the American Girl series created. They were so cool! And those few Christmases when I peeled back wrapping paper to find An American Girl Doll peering up at me…holy cow. Excitement ensued. So now that I have a daughter (and I know this is premature, but these things are expensive, so don’t judge me too much) I started poking around online to revisit my old pals.

Only my old pals weren’t there.

Brace yourselves for this, 90s girls. Samantha, Kirsten, and – this one hurts, folks – Felicity are no longer available through American Girl. The horror!

Once I was all the way through the seven stages of grief, I reminded myself that American Girl is still a great company. The books and dolls encourage literacy and imaginative play, while piquing girls’ interest in history and giving them a really great alternative to mall-obsessed Barbie and maternal-role-play baby dolls.

So while I’m sad that Baby I won’t be discovering all the cool things Felicity, Kirsten and Samantha could do, there are tons of new American Girls that we can read about and discuss – together.

6 thoughts on “It’s Time for a Little American Girl Nostalgia.

  1. I happen to know that Samantha, Kirsten, Felicity, their stories and many of their clothes are waiting for Baby I! They are safely sleeping, just waiting for a little girl to wake them for new adventures.

  2. Whaaat? That’s crazy! I have a Molly doll and one that’s supposed to look like me but didn’t really. I think Anna somewhat kind of liked them once upon a time, but never as much because she didn’t read the books.

  3. A says:

    Haha you know, I remember when they came out with “personalized” American girl dolls and I really wanted one…but I didn’t want one that looked like me, I wanted to “adopt” an Asian one. Go figure I’d marry a half Chinese man and have a real, live quarter-Chinese baby!

Leave a Reply

