30 Days of Healthy: Week 1 Recap


Dear reader, I have a confession to make. Immediately after I wrote my kickoff post for the 30 Days of Healthy challenge, I went to the company vending machine and bought a pack of Reece’s Pieces.

Sigh. But the rest of the week actually went pretty ok. I’m feeling much better today than I did this time last week. Here’s a breakdown of how I did on each of my goals:

1. Four workouts
Check! On Mondays I do yoga at work, which totally counts. Saturday I rode about 6 miles on my bicycle, and then two other days I worked out a home before work (it was hardcore. I was SO SORE).

2. Buy local one time
Check! I killed two birds with one stone here. My 6 mile bike ride I referred to earlier? That was about 3 miles to the farmer’s market (where I purchased tomatoes and onions) and 3 miles home.

3. Throw away one clutter item per day
OK, so I didn’t declutter one item per day exactly, but I decluttered over 10 items from my kitchen when I deep cleaned on Saturday. Win!

4. Eat two servings of fruit and two servings of vegetables per day
I didn’t do quite as well on this one. I always thought I was great at eating fruits and veggies…turns out not so much when I’m having a stressful day. I didn’t hit this goal three days last week. Got to make that a priority for this week.

5. Write something you’re grateful for everyday.
I’ve got them right here:
Wednesday: I’m grateful for summer mornings. I love the light breaking through my window when I wake up in the morning.
Thursday: I’m grateful for the Internet! We were down at work all of Wednesday afternoon and I didn’t get much done at all.
Friday: I’m grateful for my awesome go-getter husband. He took on another job as sound tech and it’s his first day today. I’m sure he’s rocking it!
Saturday: I’m grateful for my health. I was majorly sore from my at-home workout, but I was able to hop on my bicycle today and ride anyway.
Sunday: I’m grateful for second families. The other members at my church are basically family to me; they are some of the most genuine and caring people I know. I am so thankful I can come to them with anything.
Monday: I’m grateful for new beginnings.
Tuesday: I’m grateful for one-on-one time with a friend. I’m an introvert, so groups don’t really do it for me. I feel best socializing with one person. So thankful my friends understand that.

So that’s week one! Week two….go!

One thought on “30 Days of Healthy: Week 1 Recap

  1. lettercollection says:

    I absolutely agree that this is worth being grateful for!
    “Tuesday: I’m grateful for one-on-one time with a friend. I’m an introvert, so groups don’t really do it for me. I feel best socializing with one person. So thankful my friends understand that.”

Leave a Reply

