On Becoming an Old Man

Note: I wrote this post several days ago as a follow-up to my foot complaints in this post. It’s been sitting in my drafts folder, and I just finally got it published. I’m feeling much better now, and plan to see a urologist (the people who officially diagnose gout) the minute I think I’m having another episode.

I hobbled into work last Monday, and a coworker asked what was wrong with me now.

It’s true that lately, I have had a long list of ailments. From changed (more intense) seasonal allergies to being insanely sore after a workout, and now to limping because I can’t bear much weight on my right foot, it seems like I just can’t catch a break.

So what’s going on with the foot? Well, I’m not a doctor, but I believe it’s gout. Yes, it’s highly unlikely, statistically, that a female in her mid-20s would have gouty arthritis, but it is possible. And it’s highly genetic. My dad and brother both suffer from episodes of gout. That’s how I knew my symptoms were lining up with the condition, and as my flare went on, it was oh-so-painfully obvious that that’s what was going on.

Let me explain to you how gout feels. On Sunday afternoon, the spot where my toes meet my foot felt sore. Really sore. I have broken toes in the past, and it almost felt like that. Except, unlike when I broke my toes, there was no incident of injury, such as stubbing the toe or dropping something heavy on it (I have broken toes both ways). I hadn’t done anything recently to hurt my foot! And there was no bruising or swelling (up to that point), so I just assumed it was a weird fluke and went on about my merry way.

But by that night, the pain was almost unbearable. I could no longer put any weight on the foot. It felt like someone was crushing my bones (in particular, the joints in my toes) with a vice. And they were extremely stiff. I could barely move them. I suffered through the night and in the morning, the pain was better but I had a lot of swelling.

That cycle’s been repeating itself ever since.

If you happened to click the link above and read the page on gout, hopefully you now don’t think I’m an insane hypochondriac for thinking I have gout. Because I’m like 95% sure that’s what this is. Which, statistically, makes me an old man.

Let me know if you find it, ok?

2 thoughts on “On Becoming an Old Man

  1. Oh, your brother and dad both had bouts with the “Big Toe” (and many other body parts) disease at nearly your age…we were both just too stubborn to do anything about it! You aren’t an old man, just genetically predisposed! I am not an old man, I am just generationally challenged! Just don’t let it go on too long untreated…

Leave a Reply

