Book Review – Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

First of all, I would like to share that I was reading this book on my Kindle on my lunch break when a co-worker asked me what I was reading. I told him the title of the book, and he said, “Yeah, I guess we are, but we’re going to lunch at [totally forgot where he said, because I was laughing at this point] but you can come if you want.” Therefore, the title of this book is absolutely perfect. Well played, Mindy Kaling, well played.

I really enjoyed reading this little sketch book of comedy. It’s light, it’s fun, and it’s a quick read (Miss Kaling tells you right up front that you will finish the book in two days. I think that’s realistic for most people). The tone is blog-ish, which I have really been enjoying lately because it’s my new writing format. When I say blog-ish, I mean conversational, occasionally addressing the reader, and each chapter is a little bit different. Some of them are lists, some are letters, and some are more typical paragraph formats. Changing things up makes the work interesting and a really enjoyable read.

That said, do not go into this book expecting a work of literary art. It’s not a hard-hitting memoir, and it wasn’t meant to be. So if you want to read it because you enjoy Kaling’s particular brand of humor and you need some light reading, you’re in for a treat. If you go into it expecting life-changing revelations about Kaling’s life, comedy, or your worldview, you will probably be disappointed (no, I didn’t go into this book expecting any of those things, but browsing Goodreads, I see that some people did).

I don’t want to write this book up as fluff – I don’t think that’s what it is at all. Kaling is an incredibly accomplished comedy writer, producer and actress, and I think the part about the book I appreciated the most was where she outlines her career. How she struggled out of college and then eventually broke into the industry is fascinating to me. She’s probably one of the most honest writers on this subject that I’ve read. A mix of a great education (which landed her killer internships), fantastic writing and acting (obviously) and luck allowed her to prove herself on The Office. And I’m so glad she did; I really appreciate her sarcastic, sometimes-dry-and-sometimes-over-the-top comedy. I think she’s witty, timely, and just self-deprecating enough to make it big enough to write that second book she mentions at the end of Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? And I can’t wait.

I just want to note that this book was on my radar, but officially landed on my list after my friend (who I will now call my friend-in-real-life-who-happens-to-blog) reviewed it on her blog. Go check that out, you know, as a second reference if you’re thinking of reading this.

4 thoughts on “Book Review – Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

  1. Abbey says:

    Hey! That’s me! Ha. I think it’s funny that people on goodreads would expect anything life changing or serious out of this. I think she says it herself at some point that the book is mostly pink, so you shouldn’t expect it to change your life. But I agree — definitely lighthearted, but not just fluff.

  2. I always check Goodreads after taking notes on books that I read but before writing reviews because I’m paranoid about being way off base. I was surprised to see people rating this one or two stars, because I didn’t see how that was humanly possible. But then I read their reviews, and they were expecting waaaaay different things from the book than I was. People are funny!

Leave a Reply

