An Open Letter to my 44 Year Old Self

Dear Cassy,

It was so easy to write a letter to my past self, because I know my 14 year old self well. But I’m struggling to find words for my future self. If there’s one thing I’ve learned over the years, it’s that people change – and that rule definitely applies to me.

So I have no idea what you’ll be like. You’ll have a 20 year old daughter. If you don’t have any other children, that probably makes you an empty nester. I’m totally hazy on the other details.

All I can do is hope that you’re happy with the choices you’ve made for your life and A’s life. And that you’re proud of the way you raised Baby I.

And that you’ve managed to make an impact on your community the way you’ve always wanted to. Even if it’s small.

And that you’ve been able to go back to San Diego, or some other awesome place you’ve discovered since you were 24.

And that you’ve been published. For real.

And that you manage to smile every day – even if it’s right before you go to bed. Those still count.

And that you finally got that Boxer dog.

And that you’re just as excited for your next 20 years as you were for the last. I can only guess the ride’s been great.

I hope it is.

Love,

Cassy

Leave a Reply

