…And the Waiting is Torture

Remember my last post where I dropped the news that we’re buying a house? Well, it seems like that’s still happening, but it definitely ranks as one of the most stressful situations I’ve ever been through. I knew it would be hard going into it, but I didn’t know it would be THIS hard (says everyone, right?). 

Here we are, one day past  our original closing date, and no end in sight. Everything that still needs to be done is completely out of our control. Which is pretty much the worst for me. I’m a complete control freak, so just having to sit on my hands and wait for a phone call is the highest form of torture. 

A, on the other hand, is the complete opposite. I think the worst part of this whole process for him was at the very beginning when we worked out the monthly payments and how much we’d have to bring to closing. Once he had time to let that settle, he went into zen mode. His philosophy is if you can’t do anything about it, then there’s no sense worrying about it. And I know that is 100% correct, and I envy him for being able to just let it go like that.

Meanwhile, my anxiety rises by the minute. Each time we pack something, the pressure to close and move out ASAP rises. And the pressure is high, for all sorts of reasons. It’s an any-minute-now-but-maybe-weeks-away type situation. And it’s killing me!

Have any of you been in a similar situation? How did you deal?

One thought on “…And the Waiting is Torture

  1. Just went through it. We had finalized the sale of our condo, and were all ready to finalize the purchase of the new house when we found a couple of things that made us question if we should. Fortunately, it all eventually worked out, but it led to some tenuous days.

Leave a Reply

