A Year Went By.

It’s my one year blog-o-versary!

One year ago today, feeling isolated and maybe a little bit unfulfilled, I started putting any random thought online for all to see. Basically, I wanted my friends and family, or anyone else who cared to read, to know that if they share some of my thoughts and feelings, then they wouldn’t have to feel alone.

Here are some things that changed for me this year

1. I stopped letting other people’s opinions dictate mine.
One of the toughest thing about new parenthood (Baby I was 4 months old when I started blogging) was that I had no idea what I was doing, so I sought advice. But there’s so much conflicting advice out there that I felt judged and conflicted no matter which method, strategy or tip I tried. What I know now is that just because some mom somewhere feels a method or technique is wrong doesn’t make it wrong for my family.

2. Work-life balance balanced out.
I still don’t know if there’s such a thing as having it all. But what I do know is that, with time, I’ve been more and more comfortable in my role as working mom. It’s never going to be easy, and it’s not for everyone, but those things are true of staying at home as well. And I’ve learned to get comfortable with that this year.

3. Health became more valuable. 
I had my first gout attack this year, which was super painful and a huge wake-up call. I’ve had to watch my diet and take batter care of myself. Confession: I still need to work on this in a major way. Stay tuned!

4. I read more. 
Posting book reviews helped motivate me to read more this year. I hadn’t really read for pleasure for a long, long time before starting my blog. People seem to respond pretty well to the book reviews, and I enjoy doing them.

5. Dreams came true. 
The new house that we moved into in April had been a dream of mine for a long, long time. To be fair, a bigger home complicates things in terms of money and maintenance, but it has been a completely worthwhile trade. I love love love living there! And I can’t wait to upload some before/after photos (we’re still settling in though).

And, lastly, some stats. My first year blogging brought:

58 posts
300 comments
148 followers
1 post freshly pressed

Thank you to each and every one of my readers. I love this blogging thing!

5 thoughts on “A Year Went By.

  1. April says:

    You don’t really know me but we met once at a staff meeting and I’ve been reading your blog since it was linked in another blogger’s blog.

    I just wanted you to know how excited I am about your new house. I house-hunt every now and then for fun. We plan to upgrade in a few years and your new house was the #1 on my list for a LONG time (though I had no intentions of putting in an offer in the near future). It had everything I wanted, including a park in the backyard (my current house has a park in the backyard, too!) and it’s really, really close to a good friend of mine’s house. I wasn’t too thrilled about the crazy Christmas decorations on the listing website, though.

    I told this good friend that we should randomly go over there and say “hi” and maybe we still will. 🙂

    Cheers.

    • April, what a small world it is! Thank you for reading my blog. I really appreciate your stopping by to leave me a note!

      You should totally stop by and say “hi!” That would be so fun! I am loving the house. I won’t lie – it is going to be an enormous project, so it’s really easy to see why it was on the market for so long. But it has tons of potential. The park in the backyard is probably the best feature of all.

  2. Kim Marler says:

    Sometimes it takes me several days to respond or sometimes I never respond. I do want you to know that I read everything that you post. I can relate to your thoughts and feelings and as you age things keep changing. But it is nice to have those times in your life that you are fulfilled and feel good about life in general. You are a wonderful person, daughter, mother, wife and I am great full that I can call you my friend and that in a special way you will always have a place in my heart.

    sngspringfieldmo@aol.com

  3. Hello! I found you through Twitter, scrolled through your blog, and wanted to find out if you live anywhere near me so I can invite you to our fiction writers’ group that has met monthly since 1987.

Leave a Reply

