Back to School, Back to School

Image

OK, so I won’t be riding a bus or carrying a lunchbox.

So, if you’ve read my blog and/or known me for any time at all, you’ve probably noticed that I love changes and adventure. I’m typically not comfortable resting on my laurels. That said, it’s time to announce my next big undertaking: grad school.

I’m in love with learning, and I crave the structure that class can provide, so I’m really looking forward to taking 6 credit hours (3 undergrad, 3 grad) in the upcoming spring semester! Both of my classes are online, which is brand new to me, but I’m up for the challenge, and glad I won’t have to spend lots of time away from my family my first semester back.

Since these are my first few hours of grad school, I didn’t have to have a completed application package to enroll. That means that I’ll also be working this semester on a personal statement, letters of recommendation, and taking the MAT (eep!). So next semester, I’ll be a fully-fledged grad school student.

While I loved undergrad (I have a B.A. in writing and design arts), this degree will be a bit of a new direction for me. I’m really excited about the change but also nervous. Will I like it as much as I think? Will I be good at it? Will I be able to handle the coursework on top of my other priorities?

What about you guys? Have any of you been to grad school? What was your experience like? I’d love to hear your stories as I embark on this adventure!

5 thoughts on “Back to School, Back to School

  1. That’s so exciting! What are you going back for? I think you know I’m in grad school now. At the moment, I’m pretty burnt out and ready to be done — probably should have taken a little more time between undergrad and grad! Most people in my particular program go to grad straight from undergrad, though. It’s been good. Higher expectations than undergrad, more readings and work to do on your own, but probably more learning too. And it’s nice that everything relates directly to what I want to do with my life.

    • C says:

      Good perspective, Abbey! I’m hoping my few years off will help prevent burnout. That, and I’m taking it really slow – just about 6 or 7 credit hours per semester. I’m entering one of Drury’s Master in Education programs, but I’m not sure which one yet. There are a lot. The good news is that they all have similar prerequisite requirements, so I have a semester or two to figure it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

