Happy 2014!

Now that it’s the new year and we’re putting all our Christmas decorations back, I realized I never wrote a post on how our first Christmas went in our new house. In short: it was amazing. The holidays are so much more enjoyable when you actually like your neighborhood and your home. So here’s a little taste of our first Christmas in our home this year:

Image

Our stockings were hung by the mantle with care.

We didn’t make enough preparations to be able to hang lights outside this year, so I strung them inside. I thought they looked nice on our mantle, kind of serving as a backlight for the stockings. I also replaced some of the photos that usually live on our mantle with Christmas printables I found on Pinterest. We don’t use our fireplace just yet, because it needs some attention (which takes money that we don’t have), so I hung a sparkly blue wreath in front of it for extra pretties.

Image

The tree scene.

So about our tree: our old house was teeny-tiny, so our tree is too. A actually made this tree to look like a vintage aluminum Christmas tree. I don’t know if any of my readers have been in the market for vintage aluminum Christmas trees lately, but if you have, you’d know that they are pricey. So A’s masterpiece fits the look, and he made it for about $10. While we could get a larger tree in our new house, it really did look sweet in our front window. Off-screen: a color wheel adds to the vintage effect of our Christmasscape.

Image

The nativity

This was the first year I got to set out a nativity scene, even though A’s parents got us one several Christmases ago. It was more difficult to maintain that I thought. The fake hay in the barn kept throwing the wise men off their balance. Maybe I’ll glue them next year? Or look for a different nativity scene. I like that I have the room for it this year, and I also like the reminder of why we really celebrate Christmas.

Image

My DIY masterpiece.

The advent calendar is my contribution to our Christmasscape. We started an advent tradition last year, but I had used disposable paper crafts to house the candy and activities. This year, I used a piece of particle board, clothespins and tiny burlap sacks. The photo is terrible, but I thought the calendar turned out really nice. Some of our advent activities included making breakfast for dinner, driving around and looking at Christmas lights, and reading the Christmas story.

Overall, our first Christmas in our new house was…perfect.

I hope everybody had a very merry Christmas and a happy new year!

Leave a Reply

