My Stitch Fix Experience

So I recently stumbled upon Stitch Fix, which is a personal shopping service that sends five items of clothing, accessories, or bags right to your door for you to try on in your own home. It’s genius, actually.

Here’s how it works: you go to the site, fill out this really detailed style profile that includes your sizes and the price you’d prefer to pay for each type of clothing or accessory. You can even link to a Pinterest board that you’ve got some hot fashion items on! Then, you can either tell them when to send you a box (or “fix”) or you can sign up for a monthly subscription. You pay a $20 “styling fee” when they send you your fix, but you can apply that to any item you decide to keep! If you keep all five items in your box, you get 25% off. It’s a pretty good deal.

Also, there’s a referral program. All of the links to Stitch Fix on this post are my referral links, so if you use my link to get yourself to the site and sign up for a fix, I get some credit (thank you!).

Okay, now to the nitty gritty. What’s it like getting a fix? It’s like Christmas and my birthday, all wrapped up in a very stylish package.

Start doing your happy dance when you see this box on your stoop.

Start doing your happy dance when you see this box on your stoop.

Image

Why, thank you, Stitch Fix!

Image

You get a card showing you how to style each of the pieces in your fix!

Image

Onto the goods.

Now for the clothes. This is the part of my blog where I post the first real-life photos of myself (but not my face, because, haha, giant camera). Apologies in advance for the dirty mirror, but seriously, who has time for that?

Item #1: Baggu Duck Bag ($38)

Image

Love, love, love this bag. When it came out of the box, I had my heart set on it, but I have a lot of bags, and if I’m going to buy a new one, I’d prefer a cross-body bag.

Status: Sending back

Item #2: Spencer striped jersey dress ($58)

Image

This is another one I was convinced I’d be keeping when I pulled it out of the box. But, then I put it on. It is super soft and comfy, but just a tad shorter than I prefer to wear to work (where I spend the lions share of my non-pajamaed time) and the way the stripes bow down around the hips isn’t really doing me any favors.

Status: sending back.

Item #3: Wynn arrow print front pocket blouse

Image

This is a terrible photo, but can you spy Voxie, my best fashion critic?

Image

This one’s a little better.

I didn’t expect to like this blouse very much, but it fits me so well! And the colors are super flattering.

Status: keeping

Item #4: Johnny Skinny Jeans

Image

I was wearing the skinnies with the patterned top I love.

Some basic skinnies, and I really like them. A lot. I like the wash and the fit, and they stretch in all the right places. Buuuut, I already have a pair of dark skinnies, and I’m not sure I love them $88 worth.

Status: sending back

Item #5: Benson 3/4 ruched sleeve blazer ($78)

Image

This blazer is gorgeous. I love the color and the striped lining. It’s straight out of my Pinterest board that I shared with the stylists at Stitch Fix. But when I put it on, I felt like it was a little weird in the shoulders. I had made up my mind not to keep it, especially considering the price. But now, seeing the photo, I’m thinking that it looks awfully cute. Sigh.

Status: probably sending back. Talk me out of it.

So that’s my fix! After each fix, you’re asked to provide as much feedback as possible on what you liked and didn’t like about your fix, and the stylists keep that in mind for next time. So the fixes get more and more tailored to you each time. I’m already addicted.

Before I go, I just wanted to take a moment to mention that I’m in no way affiliated with Stitch Fix, and this is not a sponsored post. I just liked the service and I wanted to share. Try it out for yourself if you’re intrigued!

What do you think? Would you try Stitch Fix? And most importantly, should I keep that blazer? 🙂

9 thoughts on “My Stitch Fix Experience

  1. Valerie says:

    What a super fun way to try on clothes! Love it.
    I agree with all of your choices on what you’re keeping/sending back, and I think you nailed it with the shoulders on the blazer – they seem “off” for some reason. Even though the blazer itself is great, the shoulders make you look a bit stiff or something. :/ Love the blouse on you, btw!

  2. The Sartorial Coquette says:

    this sounds so fun!! from the picture the blazer looks great, except a bit bunched up in the shoulders. if it doesn’t bunch up in real life – keep it! but if it doesn’t you know what to do sadly… great post! 🙂
    thesartorialcoquette.com

Leave a Reply

