Mid-Mod Masterpiece Update: Baby I’s Room

Get ready for a barrage of pictures (fair warning).

Today I want to show you the progress in Baby I’s room. Here’s the real estate photos:

Image

Standing in the doorway, looking toward the back corner of the room.

Image

Standing at the back of the room, looking at the closet (which has no doors).

It was obvious when we were looking at the house that this would be Baby’s room, because it is the largest bedroom beside the master. But, that carpet (that carpet will be a common refrain in all of the bedrooms). The carpet in the bedrooms is very old, and it’s possible it’s even original to the house. The colors reflect that, so, ew. But it’s also in pretty darn good shape, and we can’t really afford to replace it anytime soon, so we have to try to find a way to work with it.

I think we did a decent job in this room, but you can judge for yourself:

Image

Image

A full view of the back of the room

Image

And looking toward the front, with my favorite model. Remember that post where I said I wasn’t going to hide mess? Also: who has the energy to organize a closet? I need curtains…

And just because kid’s rooms are so much fun, here are some detail photos:

Image

The toy box my parents made for Baby I for her first birthday

Image

HOW CUTE IS THIS ROCKING HORSE, I ASK YOU?!

Image

We redid this dresser, which was A’s, for Baby I. There’s also an assortment of music boxes, and my half-hearted attempt at organizing with baskets.

Image

Since her second birthday, Baby I has had some pretty sweet doll furniture, and what girlhood would be complete without a Cabbage Patch doll?

Image

THIS TENT, right?! It’s since become Baby I’s reading nook. That’s her old changing pad in there for her to sit on and get all comfy.

So I don’t think there’s a whole lot I’d want to change about this room at this point, but sometime soon, Baby I will need less of a baby’s nursery and more of a little girl’s room. I realize that by the time we’re redoing her room, she will probably want to give some input as far as color scheme, features, etc., but here are some inspirational photos I like to dream on:

Image

(Click for source)

Image

(Click for source)

Image

(Click for source)

Image

(Click for source)

 

So, what do you think of Baby I’s room? Any ideas for the closet, besides a curtain? Anyone have experience upgrading a nursery to a kid’s room? Any tips?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Mid-Mod Masterpiece Update: Baby I’s Room

  1. I’d say it’s a good start, and you are right about the transition coming along fairly soon. For your inspiration pics, I love the first one with the orange desk and the hanging “egg chair”. Curtains on the closet are definitely better than doors to protect small fingers and she begins to get around on her own. Kids love to play in the closet, so curtains are easy for them to deal with and give a cozy feel. Plus, it’s a great way to introduce pattern and colour to the room that is easy and cheap to change out. We didn’t put closet doors on Shooshie’s closet until she was 5, then we did bi-folds my dad made (light-weight, not as pinchy as by-pass doors- with pretty curtain panels my mum made. We had a few sets of curtain panels to switch around for fun. Again, cheap and easy. To solve the floor dilemma… yank the rug and pain the floor beneath (concrete or wood?). Get a big area rug, or those foamy floor panels they use in playrooms (Home Depot has them by the area rugs).

    Every year from the time she went to kindergarten until she went to high school, I took her first week back to school to re-decorate her room. She had to sleep at her grandparent’s or on the sofa until the big reveal- usually 3 days. Every year was different and based on her interests at the time. Sometimes it was recycling things she already had, sometimes it was a complete gut. We did things like added shelves around the perimeter of her room near the ceiling and used all of her Beanie Babies in plastic boxes as a “wall border”. I made a rubber stamp of huge flowers and stamped them all over 2 walls. One year, I painted each wall a different colour. Then there was the jungle room. I did her bathroom that year, too. Using tulle, twine, silk flowers and butterflies, and some of her stuffed toys, I created a canopy over her bed with flowering vines and animals. The theme was continued to the bathroom through stamping the bottom half of the walls below the chair rail with leopard print, painting the top half khaki (like Steve Irwin’s shirt and shorts), making a shower drape from bamboo print fabric, adding a silk vine through the shower rings, and splashing more tropical animals and accessories on the shelves of the wall cabinet. OH! And artwork! I guess the message here in this great wall of text is: HAVE FUN! Be creative. Kids’ rooms are great to let your imagination (and theirs) run wild. If the colours don’t match and she loves them, who cares? The important thing is that SHE feels like it’s HERS.

Leave a Reply

