On Running

Embed from Getty Images

I have written a little bit on the blog about my relationship with running. I’m not really a runner, but I have completed several 5Ks. However, I haven’t done any serious (read: continuous) running for a couple of years. In the same breath, the runner’s high is a very real thing and it’s hard to ignore, and several weeks ago I began to feel the itch again. So, I did the second craziest thing I could think of: I signed up for a half marathon.

Let me say that again: The first weekend in November, I’m running a half marathon.

Going ahead with signup is both utterly insane and also a very smart thing; if I have already registered (and paid), I am much less likely to quit my training. I felt okay about it, too, because the first weekend in November is a long way off, so I have a lot of time to get ready.

I’ve been “training” for a little over two weeks now. I started with run/walking, but now I’m pretty much just running. For the first month or so of my training plan, I’m running three days per week – (relatively) short runs. In a couple of weeks, I’ll add another run to my week: a long run. I’m pretty nervous about starting my long runs, but if my training so far is any indication, I’ll at least come away from them with an amazing sense of accomplishment. I’m using Runkeeper to keep track of my runs, and I love hitting milestones (longest distance or fastest pace)! The bad thing about being a beginner, though, is that I hit milestones almost every run right now. As I get better, that’ll taper off. I hope I don’t lose motivation.

Here’s how my runs have gone so far (don’t laugh; I’m out of shape!)

  1. 1 mile in 13:15
  2. 1.3 miles in 22:18
  3. 1.5 miles in 24:25
  4. 1.7 miles in 21:38
  5. 1.7 miles in 20:19
  6. 1.8 miles in 22:09
  7. 1.8 miles in 19:51

I dunno, my maps show that my 1.8 mile runs are more like 1.99 miles, but the app doesn’t see it that way when I actually do the run. I need some new routes anyway (there will be lots of two mile runs during the course of my training) so I’ll try to stretch it into 2 miles.

I wanted to do some training updates periodically to help keep me motivated, so I hope that’s okay. Have any of you ever trained for a half-marathon? I’d love to hear your top tips!

6 thoughts on “On Running

  1. As you know, my attitude toward running tends to follow that of a local news reporter’s: “I’m not a runner–as an adult, I’ve generally tried to avoid situations in which I might have to run from something, whether that is the authorities, a tornado, or an angry mountain lion…”

    BUT, I think it’s awesome you’re doing this! You’re going to rock it!

Leave a Reply

