Book Review: Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls

Before I jump in to the review, I just want to take a quick second to brag: It’s my two year blog-o-versary! Thank you to everyone who reads! If you want to see my most-read posts, definitely start out with my Black Friday post, which was Freshly Pressed, then look at this one and this one.

Now on to the review:

Let's Explore Diabetes With Owls

Source: Goodreads

I recently finished Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris. I know, I know. I’m a late David Sedaris bandwaggoner, but I had attempted to read Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim several times and just couldn’t get on board. I’m so happy I gave Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls a shot, though, because it did not disappoint.

The book contains several essays that are hilarious, zany, inexplicable, and sad. My favorite essay is about a taxidermy shop where Sedaris considers buying a murdered pygmay’s skeleton. Yeah. Let that sink in a minute.

While that essay is probably the most off the wall in the book, it does illustrate the thing I liked best about Sedaris: he is undeniably, unapologetically, quirky. You know those weird habits you have when you’re alone in your house, that you’d never admit to anyone else? Sedaris specializes in writing about stuff like that. It’s almost like the more weird the stories got, the more I identified with him. I love that in a writer.

He also loves satire, which I was on board with, but I must say that the thicker he laid on the the sarcasm, the less I liked the story. The last bit of the book is also more fictional, and Sedaris takes on other characters. I thought this was a bit confusing at first, and I have to admit I liked the first chunk of the book much better. Sedaris is at his best, in my opinion, when he’s being heartfelt.

In all, I would recommend this book to almost anyone. It’s hilarious most of the way through, and I finally overcame my David Sedaris block and had a lot of fun. What more can you ask for in a book?

Have you read any good books lately? Any plans for good summer reading? Any suggestions for what I should write about in my third year of blogging?

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls

Leave a Reply

