Training Notes.

Hello, dear readers! I’ve just returned from an absolutely fabulous vacation with a pretty epic ending, which I plan on writing about soon. I also haven’t forgotten about my Mid-Mod update posts. But today, I wanted to drop in and give an update on my half-marathon training!

Just like last time, I’m going to list my runs first, but I’ll start the numbering where the last post left off, in case you’re following along:

  1. 1.9 mile in 20:06
  2. 1.95 miles in 20:59
  3. 1.97 miles in 20:40
  4. 2 miles in 22:49
  5. 3 miles in 35:06
  6. 2 miles in 20:44
  7. 2 miles in 21:22
  8. 3 miles in 33:46
  9. 2 miles in 22:08
  10. 15 minute interval training: 1 minute sprints, 1 minute walks/slow jogs
  11. 2 miles in 22:01
  12. 3.5 miles in 38:44
  13. 2 miles in 20:44

I’m getting faster, and running longer! I feel like I’ve moved from the “I’m just trying to get back into the swing of running” stage to the “I’m actually training for a half marathon” stage. It’s both exciting and terrifying. I’m scheduled to run 4 miles tomorrow. Eeek!

Some lessons I’ve learned during my training so far:

It’s not actually that hard to get up and run in the morning. You feel soooo much more accomplished on the days you run than on the days you didn’t. I doesn’t matter what else you get done those days; at least you ran!

Don’t eat or drink coffee right after you run. Just don’t.

Vacation running is awesome. I ran my 3.5 mile run on the beach. Puh-leaze can I go back?!

Interval training is the best/worst. I’m going to try to do it every week. You’d think it’d be ok, because it’s just a quick 15 minutes, but by the last sprint, I was really glad I was running so early in the morning because I was making some really questionable noises. But I got faster in my longer runs!

Just take it one step at a time. Positive self-talk, focusing on form, and just keeping one foot in front of the other goes a long way toward keeping you in a run that’s proving difficult. It sounds cliche, but it’s true!

Hey runners: any half-marathon training tips? Should I get fitted for running shoes or forego that cost?

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Training Notes.

Leave a Reply

