Mid-Mod Masterpiece Update: The Master Bedroom & Bathroom

Dear readers. I have been avoiding the mid-mod updates a little bit because many of the remainder of the rooms have a lot of work to be done. I know, hypocritical since I keep going on rants about not hiding my mess and pretending like everything is perfect. So for this update, I decided to take a plunge and show you the most personal part of my home: the master suite. Heads-up: the bathroom is a hot mess.

As per usual, let’s begin with the before pics, taken when our house hit the market.

Standing in the back of the room, looking toward the "his" closet.

Standing in the back of the room, looking toward the “his” closet. That is, in fact, shocking red carpet.

The master bedroom, standing in the doorway and looking toward the back wall. Look at how badly it needs a coat of paint!

The master bedroom, standing in the doorway and looking toward the back wall. Look at how badly it needs a coat of paint!

Here's the master bathroom. You'll notice the stylish wallpaper. What you can't see is the fact that it's peeling.

Here’s the master bathroom. You’ll notice the stylish wallpaper, which is glamorously peeling, and the outdoor light inexplicably being used as a sconce.

Moving on, here’s what the master suite looks like today:

I had to pano this photo so you could see the layout. Note the presence of the red carpet...still. Everything I have clashes with it. Everything in the world clashes with it.

I had to pano this photo so you could see the layout. Note the presence of the red carpet…still. Everything I have clashes with it. Everything in the world clashes with it. Except for Voxie.

Ok, so the red carpet is bad. But the fact that I have this closet all to myself is so, so good.

Ok, so the red carpet is bad. But the fact that I have this closet all to myself is so, so good.

Sidenote: I make mood boards and pin up Stitch Fix style cards to help me put myself together in the morning.

Sidenote: I make mood boards and pin up Stitch Fix style cards to help me put myself together in the morning.

The bathroom with the wallpaper half removed. We actually don't use this bathroom very much, but I want it to be a place I love to be eventually.

The bathroom with the wallpaper half removed. We actually don’t use this bathroom very much, but I want it to be a place I love to be eventually.

Another photo of our wallpaper removal progress. I can't decide on a wall color because I have no clue what I'm going to do with the master suite in terms of color.

Another photo of our wallpaper removal progress. I can’t decide on a wall color because I have no clue what I’m going to do with the master suite in terms of color.

One of those cute stall showers...or, it would be cute if it would stop dripping.

One of those cute stall showers…or, it would be cute if it would stop dripping.

Okay, so what are the biggest things that need to be updated ASAP?

  1. The dripping shower. It’s soooo annoying.
  2. Gotta paint the bathroom.
  3. The bedroom walls could use a good coat of paint, too. Note that instead of painting, we just moved the bed in front of the smudge on the wall. #Winning.
  4. That. Carpet. But this sort of opens up a can of worms. If we redo the flooring in the master suite, do we do the entire upstairs? Where does it stop?
  5. The master bathroom actually needs all new fixtures if we really want to use it more often (which we do). They are old, caked in limescale, and barely useable.

So there it is. Sigh.

Now for the fun part. Let’s dream a bit, shall we?

Bathroom idea photos:

Source. I love the vanity and the fixtures here.

Source.
I love the calm color scheme here.

Source. This vanity rocks, and so do the sconces. This is also the layout that my bathroom already has.

Source.
This vanity rocks, and so do the sconces. This is also the layout that my bathroom already has.

Source. If this was the color scheme in my bathroom, I would be happy every day. That corner shower is amazing, too.

Source.
If this was the color scheme in my bathroom, I would be happy every day. That corner shower is amazing, too.

I am pretty lost as far as inspiration for the master bedroom. It’s a large room, so we could really do a lot with it, but I just don’t feel like I have a direction for it. The window closest to the bed faces the backyard, and A and I have discussed one day making it a door to a balcony, but that’s obviously a long way off. It would be nice to have more natural light in there. As it stands, though, here’s my only inspiration pic for the master bedroom:

Source. The light fixture. The strip of wood on the ceiling. The seating. The fabrics. Le sigh.

Source.
The light fixture. The strip of wood on the ceiling. The seating. The fabrics. Le sigh.

I’m not in love with it, but I do like some of the elements. I guess the search for good master bedroom inspo is on!

Even though this master suite could use a lot of work, I actually feel very confident about updating it. I think it’ll be gorgeous, and like the rest of the house, it has loads of potential.

One thought on “Mid-Mod Masterpiece Update: The Master Bedroom & Bathroom

Leave a Reply

