Running Update: Pain in the Keister

Hello, friends! I just finished an exhausting summer semester of school, but I’ve still been running and training for my half marathon in November. Between those things, work, and taking care of A and Baby I, I haven’t had a whole lot of time to blog, but I’m hoping to change that during my few precious days off before fall semester begins.

Anyway, I am still loving running. Sometimes it is difficult to get myself out of bed in the morning and get going, but I’m always happy I went running. One thing has been a literal pain-in-the-butt lately, though: Sciatica.

Source.

Sciatica happens when the sciatic nerve gets inflamed or irritated. People experience the pain differently, but it can begin as high up as the back, running along the hip and then down the outer side of the leg. I feel the pain most intensely around my hip area – specifically, in the keister. Ouch! I was really worried that it would sideline me for awhile, but it’s been getting much better. I haven’t been pushing myself beyond my limits, and I pop a couple of NSAIDs before a long run. I’m hoping in a couple more weeks, I won’t even have to do that anymore.

So, without further ado, here’s the list of my runs since I last posted (and, as per usual, the numbering picks up where it left off, for those of you who are following along):

  1. 3 miles in 31:10
  2. 5 miles in 56:47
  3. 6 miles in 1:07:00
  4. 2 miles in 22:04
  5. 3 miles in 31:49
  6. 6.5 miles in 1:14:58
  7. 22 minutes of interval running
  8. 3 miles in 32:39
  9. 7 miles in 1:21:22
  10. 20 minutes of interval running
  11. 3 miles in 32:33
  12. 7.5 miles in 1:27:59
  13. 25 minutes of interval running

So, there are fewer than 4 runs/week for many of the weeks here, and that’s because since my sciatica pain began bothering me, I switched my recovery run from the road to the elliptical machine. I think it was definitely the right thing to do.

Have any of you ever battled sciatica? Any runners resort to the elliptical machine?

2 thoughts on “Running Update: Pain in the Keister

Leave a Reply

