Book Review: Dear Luke, We Need to Talk, Darth: And Other Pop Culture

Dear Luke, We Need to Talk

WIth all of the craziness and sadness going on in the world lately, I really felt like I needed some funny in my life. I had heard about this book, so I was excited to pick it up (and y’all know how much I love a good comedy book). All in all, I was mildly amused.

What I liked:

The imaginative formats. Probably my favorite things were the letters that Darth started and abandoned (and started and abandoned, and started and abandoned…) and the various failed proposals. There were also several offerings that lived up to the book’s reputation as being “riotously funny.” The list of Jay-Z’s 99 problems and the notes on “Sweet Child O’ Mine” come to mind.

What I didn’t like:

While some of the offerings were indeed hilarious, many of them were not. Maybe John Moe’s humor just doesn’t jive well with mine, but I saw the joke, I got the joke, and I still didn’t laugh.

Also, there is a wide variety of pop culture references in this book, which is great, but if you’ve never seen the show/heard the song/read the book, that particular section of the book will go over your head. I consider myself relatively well-versed in pop culture, but at least a quarter of the book went right over my head.

All in all, I enjoyed reading this book, but have definitely read funnier. I’d give it a solid 3/5 stars.

Note: I received Dear Luke, We Need to Talk, Darth: And Other Pop Culture from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review. If you’re a blogger, check them out!

One thought on “Book Review: Dear Luke, We Need to Talk, Darth: And Other Pop Culture

Leave a Reply

