Mid-Mod Masterpiece Update: The Office

Hey, it’s time for another Midcentury Modern Masterpiece (a.k.a. my house) update! This time, it’s the office. Yup, we’ve got an entire room in our house just for our officey stuff. It is awesome.

As per usual, I haven’t staged the room in any way at all. Also, please forgive the photos, dear readers. I took them at night. With my iPhone. Tra la la. 

So…here’s what the office looked like when we bought the house:

Standing in the doorway. The office room is not a big place. But it does feature that stylish green carpet, so...

Standing in the doorway. The office room is not a big place. But it does feature that stylish green carpet, so…

The closet. Many closets in our house inexplicably have only one door.

The closet. Many closets in our house inexplicably have only one door.

And here’s what it looks like today:

The work area. Usually there is a laptop on the desk, but it moves around. I'm itching to get a desktop Mac.

The work area. Usually there is a laptop on the desk, but it moves around. I’m itching to get a desktop Mac.

When we lived in a teeny-tiny house, I kept all my crafty stuff in these suitcases. They haven't moved, but they have a neat little home in the closet.

When we lived in a teeny-tiny house, I kept all my crafty stuff in these suitcases. They haven’t moved, but they have a neat little home in the closet, from which we removed the awkward one door.

My mom got me this sweet little owl pencil holder. Love!

My mom got me this sweet little owl pencil holder. Love!

I keep a mood board of projects I want to accomplish this year in a picture frame, so I can cross them off with dry erase marker as I accomplish them. Or not.

I keep a mood board of projects I want to accomplish this year in a picture frame, so I can cross them off with dry erase marker as I accomplish them. Or not.

I do the same with our chore chart. To varying degrees of success each week.

I do the same with our chore chart. To varying degrees of success each week.

And here are some ideas for the future office:

I love the long desk with the shelving. The curtains and color scheme in general are also fun.

I love the long desk with the shelving. The curtains and color scheme in general are also fun.

Since the closet is already a "craft area" of sorts, this would be a nice upgrade.

Since the closet is already a “craft area” of sorts, this would be a nice upgrade.

Another take on the office closet, although I'd want to bring this awesome vibe to the entire room.

Another take on the office closet, although I’d want to bring this awesome vibe to the entire room.

So, do you think my little office with the green carpet has any chance of ever looking like my dream spaces? Anybody have some good tips for making a successful chore chart?

Leave a Reply

