Running Update: Two More Months!

Hi, readers! Two things:

1 – today marks just two more months until the half-marathon! Several friend have asked how I’m feeling about it, and I tell them that, at this point, I’m confident that I will finish, but I’m not confident that I won’t be dead last. But, you know what? I think I’d be okay with that at this point. Training and running has done so much for me, it’s just not even about race day anymore, though I know it will be the icing on the cake; a great accomplishment and a fun day.

2 – I totally accidentally hit “publish” on this post earlier, even though it was still in draft stage. I don’t know if y’all got emails for it, or what, but sorry.

Okay, now for the running update! Here are all my training runs since my last update post. As per usual, I’ve begun the numbering where I left off, in case you’re following along.

  1. 3 miles in 31:16
  2. 3 miles in 32:27
  3. 27 minutes of interval training
  4. 5k in 34:34 (on the treadmill)
  5. 8.5 miles in 1:40:09
  6. 27 minutes of interval training
  7. 3 miles in 31:00
  8. 9 miles in 1:44:33
  9. 30 minutes of interval training
  10. 3 miles in 29:05
  11. 9.5 miles in 1:51:48
  12. 3 miles in 35:00 (treadmill)
  13. 3 miles in 30:18
  14. 8 miles in 1:31:28

So, I’m still pretty slow, but I’m really proud of my mileage! Long runs hurt, but I finish with enough left over to want to lace up my running shoes again. I call that a victory! Some more good news: the sciatica that was plaguing me when I posted last has all but disappeared! I run mostly pain-free these days. I thank God for the capable, amazing body He has given me. It’s crazy that on Saturday, I’m going to run 10.5 miles!

Runners, do you have any races coming up? Tell me about them!

One thought on “Running Update: Two More Months!

Leave a Reply

