The Verdict on Race Day

Hello, dear readers!

In my last post, I told you about my knee problems and how I was on the fence about running this race I’ve been training so hard for and working toward for six months now (!!).

Well, Saturday was my last long run in my training plan. Originally, I was slated to run 14 miles that day, but between the knee injury and a sinus infection last month, I was in no position to attempt that. In fact, I wasn’t sure how the run would go at all, or if I’d even make it through. So I told myself that I would attempt to run the race course route, and if I made it all the way through, I would give myself the green light. My motto for the run was “run, walk, limp, or crawl,” and I did, in fact, finish the course! It was over 30 minutes slower than the pace I could have finished at if my knee hadn’t crapped out on me, but at this point, I just really want to finish that 13.1.

So the verdict is officially that the race is a go, and over these next two weeks, I’ll be icing and stretching my knee like crazy, and taking it easy on my runs. I’m a little nervous about how much I’ll have to walk on race day, but I’m trying to stay positive and remember that this will be an enormous accomplishment, no matter how slowly I get to that finish line.

Any runners out there have some positive stories for me about a race you did that you were nervous about?

Non runners: I promise I’ll stop obsessively posting about running in just a couple of weeks!

2 thoughts on “The Verdict on Race Day

  1. WOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!! Running, walking, limping, crawling across the finish line is all the same — still finishing a half marathon! Hope your knee feels good through the next few weeks!

Leave a Reply

