Introducing Best Thing Thursday!

Hello, dear readers! Since my last post, I have been doing some thinking about implementing new habits. It is seriously difficult to keep up with a goal all year long (as I found with my big birthday cards goal in 2014). I have a good friend who did a happiness jar last year, where she wrote down the best part about every day and then opened that jar at the end of the year. I thought about what a good idea that was, but also about how I would never be able to keep up with that. What I think I could do is pick the best thing from every week. And, instead of keeping all of those best things to myself in a jar at home, I wanted to share them with you! In that spirit, I’ve come up with:

Best Thing Thursday

Every Thursday, I’ll tell you what the best part of my week has been, and I hope you’ll share the best part of your week, too! If any bloggers want to get in on the fun, I’ve been thinking about a link-up, as well. Drop me a line if you’d be interested.

Onto the best thing about my week! This week, I’ve been appreciating how much I get to read when grad school isn’t in session. Right now, I’m reading Cloud Atlas. It’s dense, but so much fun. I’m really liking it so far.

As I was looking through everything I’v read recently, I thought this Best Thing Thursday (BTT) would be a great time to share with you the books I read in 2014! (And, of course, I saw how many I did not review for the blog. Sorry! I’ll try to do better this year.) Here they are, listed by how much I liked them:

  • Freefall to Fly
  • Letters to a Young Teacher – I started to hear a lot about Jonathan Kozol since I’m doing a master’s in education, but I found this book a little hard to keep up with. I’ve heard some of his other books, especially Savage Inequalities, are better.
  • A Beautiful Mind – Unfortunately, this is one of those cases where I saw the film long before I read the book, and I liked the film so much that it kind of ruined the book for me.
  • The Story of English – I read this for a class, and it was fascinating. Now I’m really proud of myself when I can make a pretty accurate guess about where a word comes from without knowing beforehand.
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – For such a neat premise, it was kind of a shame about the writing style. Liked it; didn’t love it.
  • Lean In: Women, Work and the Will to Lead – I love that Sheryl Sandberg wrote to women, and especially to working moms, as a working mom, but I also felt like she was incredibly out of touch with where most working moms are coming from (aka: not the corner office).
  • NPR Laughter Therapy: For the Chronically Serious – Who doesn’t love a good comedy book? Or NPR?
  • Will Grayson, Will Grayson – I picked this up at the airport when we kept getting delayed on our vacation this year. It was my first John Green novel (although it was also co-written by David Levithan), and now I want to read more of both of them.
  • Dear Luke, We Need to Talk, Darth
  • The Vacationers – This was supposed to be a light beach read, and it mostly was, but the imagery is beautiful and it has unexpectedly stayed with me.
  • The Divergent Series – So fast-paced and fun, but it doesn’t hold water against the Hunger Games books as far as the dystopian teen series go, in my opinion.
  • Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls
  • Giovanni’s Room – Trying to work on the classics that I somehow never got to in college. This one did not disappoint. So haunting.
  • Catching the Wolf of Wall Street – Ranking this high because I’m fascinated by sociopaths.
  • How to be a Woman – Really good as comedy books go. Loved her voice and the narrative, minus a couple of really graphic chapters.
  • Frog Music – Just a gorgeous book.
  • The Night Bookmobile – A short novel, so I read it in one sitting, and so touching. Highly recommended to all book lovers.
  • Gone Girl – It lived up to the hype for me.
  • Dark Places – Not enough hype in my opinion. Like Gone Girl, but darker, scarier, and better written.
  • A Tale for the Time Being – Two words: Holy cow. This is a wonderful book. Read it immediately.
  • Reconstructing Amelia Book review post coming soon!
  • The Art of Racing in the Rain – This was one of those I just couldn’t stop thinking about. I also cried, so automatic first place.

What about you? What was the best book your read in 2014? Have you read any of my 2014 reads? 

What was the best thing about your week?

3 thoughts on “Introducing Best Thing Thursday!

Leave a Reply

