My First Experience with Blue Apron

I must be a real Millennial, because I am getting SO INTO subscription services. Dear readers, you are probably already familiar with my undying love for Stitchfix. I actually don’t even enjoy shopping in stores anymore (for clothes anyway) because getting clothes shipped to me that are already my style and size is so much more comfortable. Also, I like pretending I’m super rich and have a personal shopper/stylist who does this for me all the time.

Something that lots of my mom friends (okay, two of my mom friends and lots of mom bloggers whom I happen to read) have been doing for their sanity is having their groceries delivered. This is something I’ve been thinking about for awhile, because as a full-time working/grad school-attending mom, the whole meal planning, grocery store shopping routine monopolizes my time more than I’d like. Well, there aren’t a lot of good options for grocery delivery in my area, but during my search, I stumbled across services like Blue Apron over and over.

Blue Apron lets you select from several meals each week. Right now, my family is doing the meal plan for four, and we have two meals delivered per week. I was hoping the four person amount would be enough for the three of us to eat dinner, and have leftovers for lunch the next day. Here’s how our first shipment went!

The Unboxing

The box was bigger than I expected, and it was pretty darn heavy. I had to have help to get it inside (but only because my belly was in the way).

The box was bigger than I expected, and it was pretty darn heavy. I had to have help to get it inside (but only because my belly was in the way).

Besides food, the box is filled ice packs and surrounded with a thick layer of insulation. It will stay cold for a long time - great if you're at work when it comes!

Besides food, the box is filled ice packs and surrounded with a thick layer of insulation. It will stay cold for a long time – great if you’re at work when it comes!

The meat is on top, with a layer of ice packs underneath.

The meat is on top, with a layer of ice packs underneath.

The produce is underneath. Everything was really fresh!

The produce is underneath. Everything was really fresh!

You get a letter and recipe cards with each shipment. Everything is filled with resources for cooking tips and tricks!

You get a letter and recipe cards with each shipment. Everything is filled with resources for cooking tips and tricks!

As I was unpacking ALL of the pieces in my shipment, I was a little worried about how much waste was in there. But, my letter explained that virtually everything in the box is recyclable, and gave instructions on how to recycle the various materials. I really liked that. Since the box was so big, it was a tad unwieldy, but that’s a pretty minor complaint for me – I think it might be sort of awkward for someone who lives in a tiny apartment with trash/recycling collection far away, though.

Meal #1: Salmon and Long Beans

Blue Apron recommends that you cook your seafood meal first (if you get one) so that it will be super fresh. I followed that advice, and made the salmon and long beans (with veggies and noodles) the night we got the shipment.

All of the ingredients + the recipe card for the salmon meal.

All of the ingredients (except the salmon – oops!) + the recipe card for the salmon meal.

I was wondering what the

I was wondering what the “knick knacks” in the brown paper bag were – this is them!

I had three pots going for this meal - one for the noodles, one for the veggies, and one for the salmon.

I had three pots going for this meal – one for the noodles, one for the veggies, and one for the salmon.

This made a gorgeous bowl!

This made a gorgeous bowl!

I was so impressed with this meal. It was pretty, quick, and easy to cook, and most importantly, it was delicious. We all gave it two thumbs up (even Baby I!), and, just as I had hoped, there was enough for leftovers the next day.

Meal #2: Steak Fajitas

Who doesn’t love a good steak fajita? These were a little different than fajitas I’m used to, but after such a good salmon experience, I was super exited to try these, too.

Everything I needed for the fajitas.

Everything I needed for the fajitas.

The finished product (I served this meal family-style). Just as beautiful as the salmon bowls!

The finished product (I served this meal family-style). Just as beautiful as the salmon bowls!

So A and I prefer SoCal style Mexican food, and these were not that, but they were delicious nevertheless. One minor thing was that the seasoning was a bit too spicy for Baby I. Next time, I’ll definitely leave seasoning off at least one piece of meat for her. A hadn’t eaten lunch this day, so he was starving. As a result (and maybe also because I served the entire meal family style), we didn’t have leftovers this time. But, we were all stuffed and satisfied.

The verdict: I think this is a fantastic service. I didn’t have to shop for quite so many groceries last week because of these two meals, and I did notice that my trip to the store was significantly shorter as a result. I also looooooooved not having to think about what was going to be for dinner two nights out of the week. Often, when I feel stressed, tired or overwhelmed, we just end up going out for food. My goal with Blue Apron is to replace those dinners out with the Blue Apron meals. This definitely was the case last week, and as a result, we actually saved money on food costs. On a scale of 1(hated it) to 5 (totally in love), I would give Blue Apron a solid 4. I’m definitely getting a shipment again this week, and we’ll see how it goes. I’ll keep you updated!

Have you/would you ever try Blue Apron? What are your thoughts? What’s your favorite subscription service? (Magazines still count!)

Leave a Reply

